Select Page

Chaplains

Home » Chaplains

Boone County Chaplains

The mission of the Chaplain Division of the Boone County Sheriff’s Office is to serve the personnel, the community, and the inmates as a supportive volunteer group of qualified ministers and counselors who will assist by request, in personal matters, marriage, job or spiritual counseling and to be available to assist in time of emergency, as needed.

FAQs – Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: What is chaplain and what do they do for the Boone County Sherriff’s Office?

As volunteers of the BCSO, chaplains offer spiritual ‘first aid’ to whomever calls upon us in times of need.

Enforcement Chaplains:

An Enforcement Chaplain minister to families of the community, deputies, and staff of the BCSO that have just experienced a tragedy. The chaplain on the scene will come alongside people in times of need to reassure them that they are not alone and try to help them begin the long and difficult process of healing.

Corrections Chaplains:

A Corrections Chaplain ministers with individuals who are experiencing incarceration. Chaplains teach a weekly course in the jail to guide students through Biblical teachings and principles to offer the opportunity for a sustaining life in Christ after release. Chaplains are also able to meet inmates to hear individualized spiritual needs upon request.

Q2: What is it like being a Chaplain?

It is definitely a calling. Many times, chaplains encounter someone at the worst time in their life. They have just lost a loved one to a tragic circumstance or are at their ‘rock bottom.’ Majority of the time, it is a ministry of presence…just being present for someone in their time of need.

Q3: How do I become a chaplain?

Contact the Senior Chaplain or Senior Corrections Chaplain for more information. As the need arises for additional volunteers, further information about interviews and the screening process will be shared at that time.

Q4: How can local churches get involved?

Thank you for your interest in serving! Our number one goal is for the safety of those currently residing in the Boone County Jail. When it becomes safe to invite churches back in for weekly worship service, you will be notified! Please contact the Senior Corrections Chaplain for more information.

Q5: What programs are offered by the chaplains in the jail?

Different types of classes are offered to all persons in our facility.

Joni Scott

Senior Chaplain

 

jscott@co.boone.in.us

Kimberly Orr

Enforcement Chaplain

 

kjorr@co.boone.in.us

Hannah Banks

Lead Corrections Chaplain

 

hbanks@co.boone.in.us

Andrew Ramey

Enforcement Chaplain

 

aramey@co.boone.in.us

Andrew Bowen

Enforcement Chaplain

 

abowen@co.boone.in.us

Amber Rust

Lead Enforcement Chaplain

 

arust@co.boone.in.us

Tim Stonecipher

Corrections Chaplain

 

tstonecipher@co.boone.in.us

Lawrence “Larry” Rice

Corrections Chaplain

 

lrice@co.boone.in.us

William Macrie

Terra Crow

Our Office Hours

Mon-Fri  8am-4pm

 

1905 Indianapolis Ave.

Lebanon, IN 46052

 

Brian Stevenson

Major

Phone: 765-483-6400

Fax: 765-483-3370

bstevenson@co.boone.in.us

Boone County Sheriff's Office. All Rights Reserved.